So a while ago I made a (very amateurish) video documentary on Lobotomy Software, which attempted to detail the development team behind some of the greatest games on the Sega Saturn and Sony Playstation.

I don’t know what really compelled me to make it other than they didn’t get the recognition they deserved, and because there was very little information about them and the fantastic work they did.

However the comments on that video demonstrated that I was not the only one who felt the same way. Together with having been contacted prior to another interview with Brian McNeely that had been conducted by Unseen64, I knew that there were many fans still around the globe.

The incentive quickly gained impetus (though for what I was unsure of) which culminated in the announcement that someone was working on updating the entire console version of the game over to the PC, replete with updated graphics engine running at a silky smooth 60fps. That project was known as Powerslave EX, and the results were absolutely fantastic!

Unfortunately the project was canned for unknown reasons – probably relating to copyright but the setup links may be found here, though please bear in mind that I have nothing to do with this particular project or the hosting of the said files.

Now I need to clarify my position in all of this which has led to some confusion. While I have indeed setup an indie development studio that is based on Lobotomy Software, it has nothing to do with any of their games themselves; rather on the company’s heritage and ethos. Indeed our first effort is not even an FPS game. However as fans of Lobotomy Software ourselves, we continue to hope that their games may one day be picked up by a publisher using the engine developed to host Powerslave EX.

 

